Moving from North-West to East and then up the Mountain and the birth of Vicki

Our new home was planned in a way that divided the space on three levels that was conveniently suitable for us. The first level was raised above the garage and had a hallway, a two-piece bathroom, a kitchen and dining area, a sunken living room that opened to a deck in the backyard, through a sliding door. On the second floor there were three bedrooms and a four piece bathroom. Sári Mama occupied one of the bedrooms, Arpad and I the master bedroom that was big enough to fit in Julia’s crib. The third bedroom was Krisztina’s. Finally she had her own bedroom with her own door. There was a big family room in the basement that we didn’t use often because the rest of the house was sufficient for us.

With Sári Mama living with us and helping with the girls, I found a job at a factory where telephone jacks were mounted on cables. I worked every day from 3:30PM to 12AM. It was not a hard job and I had the mornings free. This was the place where “Vicki” was born.

My legal name that appears on all my documents is Viorica, the Romanian translation of my name Ibolya. When I started working at that factory (I don’t remember the name of it) my coworkers had a hard time remembering my name, Viorica, and one of them shortened it to Vicki. I liked it too and from that time on it became my name.

While working there, I signed up for a Dental Assistant course at Career Canada College. It was home study mostly but I had to attend a three hour class two evenings a week.

That interfered with the job I had at the factory because I worked nights. I asked them at the factory to allow me to work days on those days but I was refused. I had to make a choice, what was more important? Working nights at the factory or pursuing an education that will result in a better job later. I chose the latter.

We lived on Cochrane Rd for a year and then we moved again. We sold the townhouse and bought a two story house on the West Mountain, It was a new house that had four bedrooms, a big kitchen, a main floor family room and a living room dining room combination. Had a double garage and an in-ground pool. Krisztina had to change schools again but having our own swimming pool eased the transition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.